The territory of my books - the heart of my writing life - has been the exploration of ‘what love makes us capable of, and incapable of,’ as well as an idea I put forward in Fugitive Pieces: ‘there is nothing a man will not do to another, nothing a man will not do for another.’
— Anne Michaels


Anne Michaels' books have been translated into more than forty-five languages and have won dozens of international awards, including the Orange Prize, the Guardian Fiction Prize, the Lannan Award for Fiction and the Commonwealth Poetry Prize for the Americas. She is the recipient of honorary degrees, the Guggenheim Fellowship and many other honours. She has been shortlisted for the Governor-General's Award, the Griffin Poetry Prize, twice shortlisted for the Giller Prize and twice longlisted for the IMPAC Award. Her novel, Fugitive Pieces, was adapted as a feature film. From 2015 to 2019, she was Toronto's Poet Laureate.

She is currently completing a new novel and has recently released All We Saw, a new book of poetry, and Infinite Gradation, a new book of non-fiction.

       International and Canadian Awards:

  • Orange Prize for Fiction

  • Guardian Fiction Prize

  • Lannan Award for Fiction

  • 15th Anniversary Orange Prize Youth Panel Award

  • H.H. Wingate Award for Fiction

  • Ribalow Prize for Fiction

  • Acerbi Prize

  • Chapters/Books in Canada Award

  • Trillium Award

  • Heritage Toronto Award

  • Toronto Book Award

  • Martin & Beatrice Fischer Award

  • Helen & Stan Vine Book Award

  • Berkeley University Book in Common

  • Commonwealth Poetry Prize for the Americas

  • Canadian Authors' Association Award for Poetry

  • National Magazine Award (Gold) for Poetry

  • Giller Prize short-list (twice)

  • Governor General's Award short-list

  • International IMPAC Award long-list (twice)

  • Griffin Poetry Prize finalist

       Recent Honours:

  • Barker Farley Distinguished Visitor, University of Toronto, 2014-15

  • Guggenheim Fellowship, 2015

  • Toronto's Poet Laureate, 2015-18

Photo: Derek Shapton